Last year I had a very unofficial goal to sew enough that I could participate in Me Made May this year. And would you look at that? It’s MAY. How the heck did that happen?

I don’t know how we’ll go, I have not magically become a prolific sewer recently. But I do have a lot of skirts. And I do also wear skirts almost every day, anyway. It’s getting cooler but I’ve just been adding tights in. So…

 ‘I, Kate of Craftastrophies , sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’13. I endeavour to wear one handmade item each day for the duration of May 2013′.

I can already identify some gaps in my wardrobe. Dresses. I only have two handmade ones and frankly, I don’t wear them that much. I DO wear dresses a fair bit, and there are a couple I’ll miss in my wardrobe rotation. Oh well, I’ll be pleased to see them again in April, or maybe I can sneak them in with a knitted jumper. Perfect transitional weather for a bit of this and that from the wardrobe.

Jumpers are my other gap! I have a fair few but about half are op shopped or knitted by my grandma – usually for herself and then she doesn’t like it and someone else gets it. Of my own hand knits, the only ones I wear regularly are my cinnabar, which is looking the worse for wear, and Cobblestone, although I haven’t been reaching for that much, either. I must get on dying that so it’s not blah brown. I’ve been wearing featherweight a bit but it’s awkward under a jacket, and not enough by itself. So, I think there might have to be some frantic knitting and some repair of older knits, like my rogue which I need to either frog and start again or attempt to fix without frogging.

If only I knitted socks. I could get away with a lot, then. Do me-altered or mended items count?

So I forgot to sign up for this until today, but I am wearing a me-made item. I sewed this skirt a while ago, but the red ran and it looked blah. But I found a leftover packet of dye-run saver stuff over the weekend, and so there we have it!

photo

Expect not many, or poor quality pics, since it’s dark when I leave and dark when I get home. But it’d be nice to get an overview of how I actually dress myself for real life.

