Hussy!

I’m going great guns on Rogue.  I’m up to Chart b, which is the neck bit.  That’s not freaking bad for a week and a half of knitting!  I reckon tonight I’ll get at least a good way towards having the front done, which means that it’s only the hood and the sleeves left.

Which of course means I’m starting to itch to knit other things.  What’s that?  The Juno that hasn’t been touched for almost three weeks, and is the only thing I’m knitting with a deadline?  Nope.  Not interested.  Well, what about Emily, which needs only to have the neckband finished – maybe three hours of knitting, if I’m dawdling – and then it can be seamed?  And that you want to finish before Bendigo too so that you know how much yarn you’ve got left over from that?  Nope.  Boooooring. 

I sort of want to finish Sahara.  And I feel like I should while the urge takes me, in case it languishes for another three months.  I’m up (down) to the waist, so it’s so close to being done!  But that’s not what’s occupying my brain at the moment.

No, I want to knit the red bendigo rustic yarn that I bought for NaNoSweMo, two years ago.  Actually, I don’t want to knit it that bad.  But I want another 8ply jumper, and I want that yarn not in my stash.

See, I’m really really dying to knit Jaali.  As in, I already bought the pattern.  I was thinking about using the bendigo for this but…

It’s boring.  It’s normal.  It’s ordinary.  I want yarn that SINGS.  yarn that has depth.  Yarn that I can wear with snobbish pride.  This is why I want to finish Emily – because I want to buy more of the same yarn and dye it to make Jaali.  I mean, doesn’t this pattern deserve a beautiful yarn?

front cables jaalicable details jaali

Mmmmmmmm…. cabley goodness….

So.  I’ve been cleaning out my Ravelry queue.  Now I only have 15 pages!  That’s only about 500 things… totally reasonable, right?  Ahem.

Anyway.  I cleared out a bunch of patterns that were perfectly fine, but nothing fantastic.  because there are enough things that I am burning, burning to knit that are breathtaking and challenging.   And I want to knit them.  And I want to knit them with beautiful yarn, yarn with a story.

But I also want a red jumper, and I have this yarn.  So…. my current contenders:

Cinnibar pullover.  (rav) (non rav) This is what the yarn was originally intended for.  I suspect that if I don’t knit it with this yarn, I won’t knit it at all.  And I would like to own it.  It’s simple enough for the yarn, and that I’d get a lot of wear out of it, but also interesting enough that I would be excited to wear it.

Sidelines.  (rav) (non rav)  I also really want this top.  But…. I already have plenty of stockingette stuff on the go.  I am not sure I would finish it.  And I suspect that it would benefit from a slightly semi-solid, like in the picture.  Some of the ones on the rav are a bit… well… boring.

Desiknitter’s photo

Ogee tunic.  (rav) I really really really want this top.  But maybe not in red?  I’m thinking more in a cool colour, or a nuetral colour.

The same goes for other contenders in my queue.  Riding to Avalon wants to be a dark neutral or even a black.  Baby cables wants to be a blue or a green.  Mirage does too.  Rambling Rose requests a blue gray or a white, please!  Tangled yoke… dunno.  Nuetrals again, probably.  Certainly not red.

I think I’ve decided on Cinnabar.  Whic means that I will change my mind four or five times before I get around to knitting that yarn… if I ever do.

What do all y’all think?

One thought on “Hussy!

  1. Oh my, Baby Cables is beautiful.

    So is Cinnibar. Drat you, now I have to go look at your 15 page rav queue and add to my mere 6 page one.

    ps. the garter you shivered over is the Wool Peddler’s Shawl, with the garter ruffle Mustaa Villaa alternative. Yum.

Whadya reckon?

