Different anxiety

I have been anxious about the house thing all week.  Last Monday I made an offer for this place, which was hotly contested.  I didn’t get it, which was disappointing as I’d already picked out paint colours.  However, I figured that getting the first place you offered for, in a good location, everything you want, for a bargain price, seemed to be EXTRA good luck.  And I was only hoping for normal good luck.

So I immediately put an offer in on this one.  I found out today it was accepted, and I signed the contract two hours ago.

It’s not in as good condition as the other one – the bathroom needs some love, and the walls in every room need at least to be cleaned, most of them painted.  And the garden is bare.  But it’s bigger, it has more potential (you can’t paint another room on) and it was a steal.  And most of the paint colours will be good in this one, too. 

My main reactions have been: ‘yes!’ and also ‘AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH’

13 thoughts on “Different anxiety

  1. Congratulations! It looks like a great house, very similar in layout and room dimension to ours. Except I think your kitchen is bigger. And the big shaded outdoor area is a bonus, they are much used and valued around here, especially when you have people over.

    OOOH the excitement!!!

  2. Excitement! 😀

    I am especially liking the bedrooms and lounge room – oh the floors! 😀 Shiny wooden floors = yay!

    Nice big backyard = yay also! Can you please get a non-garden-trampling animal? 😀 Or MORE RABBITS!

    (There are baby rabbittys at the Toucan pet shop in the mall under BankSA – one is brown with a little black nose, and there is a very cute grey one. Squee!)

    (I can help paint – and you will LIVE NEAR ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

    Hurrah hurrah hurrah!

  3. Oh wow, congratulations! So many paint samples, so little time.

    The Bloke says you should do crafting in the pink room. It’ll give everything a weirdy look.

  4. Congrats! You definitely got the better floor plan. An extra room means SO MUCH MORE when you have one. And what’s with the huge laundries? Do you Adelaidians throw the sheets around or something?!

  5. Oh my God, you bought your own house! That is so awesome (and terrifying too, but mostly awesome). Adelaide houses look WAY more affordable than Melbourne ones, which is good.

    Wishing you all the best for getting through the next days (have just been catching up on your back-story). And thanks for support over my way too. Cx

  6. Congratulations! That is so exciting. It’s wonderful that you’ll have your own place and can decorate and adapt it to suit you. It looks so cute!

    (And Adelaide looks much more affordable than Sydney. I have yard envy!)

  7. Congratulations! It looks like it has a ton of potential! That back yard in particular! Owning your very own fixer upper is heaps better than renting ANYTHING in my opinion. So over landlords! And I love those wood floors.

Whadya reckon?

