Flashbacks

I’ve been sucked into What Claudia Wore lately.  I LOVED the Baby Sitter’s Club as a kid.  I even knew they were shit, but I loved that they were formulaic and that there were LOTS of them.  Not that I am hoarder or a maker of lists, or anything.  I liked that nothing ever changed, and I liked the way the kids could do things that were CLEARLY never going to be allowed to happen in real life.  Pretty much the same reason that I liked Nancy Drew, incidentally.  And What Claudia Wore is making me want to read them again.  Ironically.  Only, totally not ironically.

Mary Anne was my favourite.  I know, I know.  She is SO BORING.  Not to mention wet.  And boring.  But I definitely identified with her.  I was a pretty square kid.  I never had much use for Stacey and Dawn but Claudia was my second favourite.

Did you know that they all have twitter profiles?  True story.  Also, I have only just worked out that Claudia clearly had an eating disorder and that Kristy was probably a lesbian.  DUH. (I worked that out about Bess and George from Nancy Drew some time ago).

3 thoughts on “Flashbacks

  1. … that Bess had an eating disorder and George was a lesbian?? LOL
    I never had the pleasure of reading Baby Sitters’ Club or Nancy Drew, I didn’t speak English until I was too old for it 😦 However, I strongly suspected that Gilbert was a long-time bachelor in the making, so was shocked when he married Anne of Green Gables (although this could have been part of his cover). Old Mathew was definitely gay.

Whadya reckon?

