Seriously?

People seriously think it’s ok to compare food, which WE NEED TO LIVE, to drugs?

Ok, McDonalds isn’t exactly the fountain of youth.  We all know this.  And don’t even get me started on the many conflated ideas in the slogan ‘Childhood Obesity: Break the Habit’.  (Being fat is just a habit, you guys, if I were just more organised, I’d remember where I put that Thin I know I had just a minute ago… wait, let me check behind the couch.)  And don’t get me started EVEN MORE on the classist assumptions buried in this.  If you are cash or time poor, fast food is actually a pretty good option, sometimes.

Look, I’m not saying we should be encouraging junk food.  But basically this ad is saying that junk food is bad because it makes you fat.  So it’s ok for thin people to eat junk food, is that right?  Just so we’re clear?  It’s only REALLY bad for you and dangerous, and might kill your children in a creepy, forcing it on them way, if they are hideous and FAT.  No?

I don’t think I can emphasise this enough.  WE NEED FOOD TO LIVE.

4 thoughts on “Seriously?

  1. We do need food to live. Which is why it can be even WORSE than a smoking, drug or alcohol problem. You can overcome those addictions, albeit not easily, and still live, but you cannot simply stop eating.

    I’m reading The End of Overeating by David Kessler, as well as host of other Intuitive Eating sources, and it’s true that the combination of salt, fat and sugar are addictive substances. In numerous studies, addiction to sugar has shown to be second only to addiction to cocaine, in as much as what rats will do to attain another “hit.” And they don’t have the emotional attachment/association to/with food that humans do.

    Some people can eat fast food and pretty much anything else they want, and never gain an ounce. Those are also the people who “forget to eat,” which is a concept I find mind-boggling. They are not the ones who will be addicted to it. Eating fast food and other highly-processed food CAN be a habit – it’s definitely easier to drive through McDonald’s at the end of a long day and buy a burger and fries for less than $4 than it is to go home and cook something more nutritious that your kid complains about eating. Speaking from experience here.

    You’re 100% correct that it is classist – the food industries who are subsidized by the government are the ones with the worst health implications – the corn and sugar conglomerates specifically. When it’s cheaper to buy a Happy Meal than it is to buy fresh vegetables, there is something horribly wrong with the picture. And that something is MONEY. Our politicians are bought and paid for by the food industry giants, the cost of corn and sugar is kept artificially low and more healthful foods can’t even begin to compete. Yet, we get ads making us feel guilty for buying cheap, easily accessible, addictive junk food, instead of focusing on getting rid of the subsidies and changing our school lunch programs to freshly prepared, organic foods! It’s insanity!

    Sorry for hijacking your comments. This is obviously something that’s been on my mind for awhile and that I’m rather riled up about!

    1. Ha! Feel free to hijack my comments any time. I could have posted more, but it was decending into “as;jklhahiadh’lagh’adf” as I bashed the keyboard in rage and frustration.

      WHY does it have to be fat shaming and making it harder. WHY is it a negative campaign and not a positive one – I know why, because it scares people and changes things. But it’s like Mrs Obama’s anti-obesity movement. I am ALL FOR education about exercise and being healthy and eating good foods. Why does that have to be about fatness? And why can’t we eat a burger every now and then if we want? (Well, I can’t, because the preservatives give me asthma and then I cough until I think I might vomit, but that’s another point).

      And yes. If all that energy that went into shaming us, because we can’t be trusted to eat right by ourselves (because our connections with our bodies and what they want and need are so messed up by shame and guilt and false expectations put on us when we are still growing, etc etc) (this is a long sentence). IF, as I was saying, all that energy went into making it POSSIBLE for people to choose healthy options, to have them available even, and affordable and to know what to do with them… then maybe it wouldn’t be a problem.

      This is a real problem in rural australia, especially among aboriginal populations. Well, they live in a desert! Many of them grew up on reserves, where they were fed (white bread and sugar) by the White caretakers. They never learnt how to eat well, and even if they did, there are few vegetables available, and certainly none that can be afforded by poor rural populations.

      Ok. Now I’ve finished my OWN taking over of the comments! But it just makes me so, so helplessly angry that people think that the way to fix the percieved problems is to make people feel more shame and guilt.

  2. Where on earth did you find this? I’ve never seen it before.

    (I’m breaking the habit of junk food…. but because I’m a tight-arse, not because I think it’s akin to crack.)

Whadya reckon?

