In which I anticipate

So, I talked about my hopes for sewing.  I want, in the immediate future, to sew a pair of pj pants for S, and cut out and sew this dress, the pattern for which I bought last year on impulse.  I have some heavy black material that I sewed a skirt out of at a past craft camp, which gets  alot of wear.  I think I have enough left for this dress, and if it works I might try both kinds of skirt.  I also want to use the same skirt pattern (which I traced out of one of Janet’s Ottobres) to make a bunch of simple skirts.  I’ve given up on pants.  Well, jeans can stay.  But pants… they are not my friends.  I have three pairs of work appropriate pants in my wardrobe, and I don’t think I’ve worn any of them for about a year.  I put them on in the morning sometimes, and then I take them off again because they feel so uncomfortable, or fit funny.

Which brings me to my next sewing… goal?  Goal sounds to firm really.  I bought a pair of undershorts from Allihalla on etsy.  They are so nice, but I noticed the other day that they are starting to go at the thigh seam.  Well, no wonder, I’ve worn them pretty much every day since I bought them in October.  Which, now that I think about it, is kind of gross.  Anyway, I want ot make myself a bunch more – it shouldn’t be hard, theoretically.  I am also tempted to make myself some underwear.  I am really fucking sick of not being able to buy underwear that is either interesting (ie, not beige) and comfortable.  I bought some new underwear under duress, over the holidays, and they all dig into my thighs in a most unnecessary way.  I noticed that Spotlight had some not-boring jerseys in, so maybe I will buy a few half metres, and sew up a couple of prototypes, using an old comfortable pair as a pattern.

I don’t want to over anticipate myself with the sewing, otherwise I’ll get overwhelmed and not do anything.  But those are my immediate plans, and we’ll see how we go.  There are a lot of clothes in my wardrobe that I wear because I don’t have anything better, but that I don’t like much or don’t fit me.  If I could get my butt into gear and get some momentum with the sewing thing, I could get rid of a bunch of that stuff.  I think that would feel good, and I’d end up wearing clothes that feel like me, more often, instead of defaulting to jeans because it’s all too hard and nothing is good enough anyway.

So, that’s sewing.  Here is a run down of what is on my knitting needles/to do list.

First up on my needles is Riding to Avalon.  I cast this on as consolation for having to rip Cecchetti.  Again.  I was trying bust darts and they didn’t work out, and when I ripped them out I had a completely wrong number of stitches – significantly fewer than I ought.  Which is good, because when I tried it on it had a LOT of negative ease, and that means that it was just because I did it wrong, not that the sizing or the pattern is wrong, or anything.  But I just couldn’t work out where I’d gone wrong, so I ripped the whole damn thing.  I’m not too fussed since the last time I knit it it only took me something like 2 weeks to finish the entire body.  It’s perfect bus knitting and it knits up fast.  But I just… can’t look at it right now.  So I’m knitting Avalon, and I’m up to the decreased for the waist.  I’m knitting it in Shiloh wool in a deep chocolate brown colour that I just realised is exactly the colour my school uniform jumper was.  Uh oh.  It’s an alpaca wool blend and it is so. Soft.  I’m really enjoying it.  I am knitting it like crazy because I really want to wear it and, more than that, I really want the satisfaction of an FO after the cecchetti frustration.

I’m also knitting the Phyllo Yoked Pullover.  This one has been on my wish list FOREVER.  I started knitting it once, in 2007, using bendigo cotton.  It just didn’t work out.  Norah Gaughan left a comment on my blog post about it, saying that since the original was knit in calmer, which has elastic in it, yarn subs are harder.  So when Harmony came back to Bendigo Woolen Mills, I bought a bunch with this in mind.  I cast it on in the holidays because it was too HOT for yarn, and I needed an incentive to tidy up the disaster that was my craft room.  I decided that if I could uncover the drawers with my stash in, I could cast on.  It’s just plain ss knitting at the moment, so no telling how this one is going, although I must say that the Harmony is surprisingly nice to knit.  I’m knitting it in the sea mist colourway, and it’s nice and bright.  The other colours are so blah, I was a bit worried that it would be insipid, knit up.  But good things so far.

I’m also knitting the February Baby Sweater.  I’ve been knitting some surprise baby garments, but I’m waiting for some more yarn to get here.  So in between, I thought I’d knit some for a gift stash, because I think my peer group is heading into that phase of life.  And while I like gifting knits, I dislike deadlines.  It’s a bit slow going – I’m knitting it in Luxury which I have found plenty soft before but for some reason I’m finding it a bit… not scratchy, but… hard?  I don’t know if it’s the gauge I’m knitting at, or whether the red dye process is harsher than the others, or what, but it’s not exactly slipping joyfully through my fingers.  And also, EZ kind of makes me want to poke my eyes out with my needles.  I acknowledge her greatness, but if ONE MORE PERSON tells me that her writing is ‘intuitive’ when they CLEARLY mean that the KNITTER has the be intuitive, because EZ leaves out things like button holes and doesn’t make it clear if it’s supposed to be 4″ of pattern and then 1″ garter, or 4″ total, with 3″ pattern and 1″ garter… *deep breath*

Anyway, let us say that this is not the most relaxing of knits.  Although, I’m now past the arms and so it’s just knit knit knit for another 5″ – which shouldn’t take that long, given how small it is, but I am dragging my heels a bit.

I am also knitting secret baby stuff, as I mentioned.  Hopefully it’ll be off to the recipient in the not-too-distant future (these babies and their time lines) so I can show off here.

This year, I would like to add to my jumper pile.  I would like to decide the fate of some of my jumpers that I don’t wear now.  For example, I love my Rogue, but the sleeves are just too short.  And I love the yarn I used for my grey jumper, but it’s too boxy and short and I really should rip it and reknit it.  And I still have a few random WIPS around the place, like a half finished hat, and my Henley Perfected that I last knit on in 2008 and clearly was not meant to be.  I should rip it and use the yarn for something else.  Parhaps a blanket?  I love the alpaca yarn but it is just too slouchy drapey, and also so WARM.

I would also like to knit through my stash.  It currently fits perfectly into the storage I have for it, and I would like to keep it that way.  I want to buy some more Bennet and Gregor wool (I have some particular projects in mind) but I already have several jumper’s worth of yarn.  So I would like to knit through that first.  And then, maybe, I could splash out.  I have been fixated on the Camilla pullover lately, and I think it’s because of the lovely yarn.  (I can’t decide if the jumper would look ridiculous on my frame).  But I think, if I knit up a significant amount of my current stash, I would feel ok about spending $70 on yarn for a jumper.  Because I would have saved that in random yarn purchases that I never get around to knitting.  And it looks so SOFT.

camilla pullover

I am also having a bewildering urge to knit socks.  I don’t understand it, but if it’s still around once i’ve finished one of the jumpers on my needles, I might just give in to it.

Gosh, I hope you skimmed all that.  It’s a bit tedious, isn’t it?  But talking about my craft hopes and dreams was why I started this blog in the first place.  S listens nicely and, more impressively is actually interested, but I have to stop and explain things which is not the same.  At least this is text so you don’t HAVE to listen to me rabbit on.

In short, I am burning to finish Avalon and Phyllo and Cecchetti,

3 thoughts on “In which I anticipate

  1. I love those bike shorts! I make something similar and have for a couple of years – they are easy although it can be tricky to get exactly the right amount of tightness for each fabric lace combination. But eminently doable!

    Am in the middle of making jam and should be at the park, so will come back and read the rest of your posts in detail. Glad Christmas ended up being OKish. That’s quite a good Christmas outcome (for anyone) in my book.

  2. I’ve just bought a couple of sewing patterns for actual CLOTHES. Scary scary stuff. PJ pants (shouldn’t be too hard…) and a pinafore. I’m thinking I might save the pinny for when we go to Sewjourn again, in case I need expert advice.

    I’m stash busting this year in both yarn and fabric. The amount of stuff I have here is verging on the ridiculous.

  3. It’s so exciting to see a few years of pent up sewing desire start to emerge! Can’t wait to see what you come up with and WOW! A overstitch! Should add some good experimenting to the whole thing. And that’s some good knitting patterns you have picked, I’m a bit focused on 10ply sheepy wool right now, but I may stash dive for a bit of 8ply too now…

Whadya reckon?

