Riding to Avalon

I finished my jumper!

The pattern is Riding to Avalon by Connie Chang Chinchio from a 2008 Knitscene. The yarn is Shiloh wool alapca wool blend, from the last Bendigo Sheep and Wool Festival that I ever attended. Both pattern and yarn are lovely, even if I did realise halfway through that it’s exactly the same colour as my high school jumper. Although this one does have a hood.

Hmm, not sure THAT will be getting much use.

Ravelry tells me that I started this at the end of last December. At the last craft camp I finished the body and I think the sleeves?  Steam blocked it etc. Then it took me ages to seam it up, and the hood took FOREVER, with it’s twisted purl stitch. The placket took me a few goes to work out the (perfectly clear) instructions, and of course sewing the buttons on took another week or two, as is traditional. It’s like the lying in period for jumpers. They’re just boring ones from spotlight.

I did a few mods on the jumper – knit it an inch longer at the hem before the shaping, and another inch at the waist between the increasing and decreasing. It is the perfect length. I also did bust darts, and unfortunately I knit them too high up. But since they are under that hood I am NOT unpicking them! They still serve their purpose in giving me enough room in the front, but they do lead to some unfortunate pooching under the arms. You can see it here.

Which I’ve realised is what’s wrong with cinnabar, too. However, in both of those, I’d rather have the pooch than stretching and pulling, and I’m damn well not unpicking it. Not with those fiddly texture stitch plackets on both of the. But, now I know for next time. It’s made worse in this one because the jumper seems to slide backwards a bit. Not sure why, but the shoulder seams always sit a bit back from my shoulders. Hood dragging it back? Sewed in the arms a bit twisted? Well, nevermind.

Overall, I am extremely happy with this one. The alpaca content in the yarn makes it lovely and warm. But because the yarn is really a bit thinner than an 8ply, and it’s knit in an 8ply gauge, it’s not too warm. And I really cannot overemphasise the snuggly softness And I really like the way it looks in the twisted purl.

Well, there you have it! (rav link) Very pleased, all up.

And the thing you can see me knitting up there is Jaali. I lasted a week or so with only small projects on the needles before I got antsy and cast on late last night. It’s coming along nicely.

One thought on “Riding to Avalon

Whadya reckon?

