Sewjourn

Two weekends ago, now. Seems an age.

I don’t think I was particularly productive. I sewed two skirts, from the same Ottobre pattern that I have been using – it’s a yoked a-line from 5/2007. I made a velvet and a corduroy version, both black and so hard to photograph:

And also both slightly too large, it turns out. I was going to unpick the hems this weekend and fix it, but of course I didn’t get around to it – they’re very wearable as is, just not as well fitting as they could be. Full credit goes to everyone else at Craft Camp for their lending of needles and sewing machines and overlockers, as well as moral support over my constant confusion and wailing. Especially Su, who sewed two of the same pattern for herself. It definitely wasn’t a competition, but if it were she would have won by a mile on every count. In an inspiring kind of way.

Here’s the same pattern sewn in a light cotton – not at this craft camp, but I’d not photographed it so I took advantage of the light and the mirror.

I also sewed half of a top, or  a quarter of a dress. I traced off a dress pattern from another ottobre, but the pattern only went up to a 38 and I am a 40. But they run a bit large, so I just went for it and made a  muslin of the bodice, which needed some adjustment (heartfelt thanks to Su and Janet for pinning and advising). Then I made ANOTHER muslin which will be a top, only I ran out of fabric. I bought some more this weekend, to finish it off. I don’t know if I’ll wear it but I’m determined to finish it, since its primary function is to be practice. No point practising halfway.

I also knit some, traced off some other patterns, ate and laughed and talked a lot.

That's Su's side of the table, there.
One of the many advice committees of the weekend.
This spectacular pig-dog followed Jenny home.

It was a marvellous time, and I was not at all ready to go home when it was over. I feel so lucky to be able to go to this lovely place, with these lovely women. It’s nice to have time and space to make, to have the wisdom and moral support to do so. But even more than that, I feel so privileged to have these weekends where we share our stories with each other, our problems and our triumphs. It’s like one big group therapy weekend, only much much nicer.

I can’t wait to go back again.

5 thoughts on “Sewjourn

  1. I can’t wait to go back again either. June seems a while off at this point. Sigh. But it will come sooner than we think!

    You are doing great with the sewing and I think the black skirt will be fine once it has been through the washing machine.

  2. Always such a pleasure to catch up with you. And sew skirts together, or whatever.
    I’d forgotten about “you look like a pig” dog that followed Jenny back from the town.

  3. Sooooooooooo true! It is a privilege to do this. I explain to tap students (mostly women) about Craft Camp and they all pretty much sigh with longing that they could go and do it too.

Whadya reckon?

