Shiny Christmas gifts

As usual this year I had grand plans for sewing, and as usual they got way scaled back. Actually I still have another day to sew some cushion covers because I’m not seeing that person for another 48 hours… it seems unlikely to happen, however.

Here’s what I did sew. A couple of Christmases ago I gave my best friend’s small son the beginnings of a dress up box – scarves and hats and bags and beads, mostly. Last year I sewed him a few extra things for it and this year I continued the tradition.

DSC_0461 DSC_0465

I used this tutorial as a jumping off point and sort of winged it from there. I didn’t feel confident that the fabrics I had would stand up to wear, so I spend an hour or so singing the edges of them on the gas hob, which had the side effect of making them more three dimensional. Not sure whether that’s a good thing or not. The fins of the tail are a bit wonky but oh well. For the tie, I sewed a strip of the fabric and then sewed it to the tail with a fancy stitch:
DSC_0467

Which I wish I’d remembered I had, earlier. The scales are zigzagged on and would have looked nicer with a scallop. And then the ends have velcro so that he can put it on and off himself, and to hopefully extend the years it will fit someone.

DSC_0471

And then I also sewed a crown

DSC_0473

I happen to know which growth percentile he’s in, so I looked up the numbers for head sizes and used that. The back, which I neglected to photograph, has a strip of knit fabric with some elastic in it, to again hopefully extend its usefullness. He LOVES purple but the only purple stash fabric I had was this sheer, so I layered it over some purplish blue fabric, with some interfacing in between. So many layers were a bit slippery and the inside ended up a bit bigger than the outside – however, that’s what gives it that charming tilt at the points so I feel ok about it.

The only thing I wish I’d done differently is that I wish I’d made it have an odd number of points. As it is, when put on a head, the centre is an edge of a point, if that makes any sense. It would have looked nicer with a point in the centre. However, it was sewn in a heatwave, and I just couldn’t make my brain do the maths, so there it is. Good enough.

I was hoping to have time to also sew a cape or maybe an animal hat/tail set but his birthday is in Marsh so if I feel very motivated I can also aim for that.

2 thoughts on “Shiny Christmas gifts

  1. The mer-tail is so cute and a dress up box is such a great idea–especially since you can keep adding to it like this. It’s hard to figure out what to get my nephews as they get bombarded with noisy plastic things every holiday. I just might have to steal your dress up box idea.

    1. Yes, my best friend’s kid is the first grandkid on both sides of the family – before this year he was the only one! So he gets a LOT of stuff. The dressups seem to be pretty well received, and I think they store ok and have a long lifetime so it’s a decent gift. I stole the idea from someone else so please go ahead and continue the chain! 😛

Whadya reckon?

